Minimum Wage in Every State (Updated for 2020)

Across the U.S., states are raising their minimum wage laws every month. If it’s been hard for you to stay on top of the changes, check out this updated list.

Editor’s Note: Several of these states will have minimum wage increases in 2020, but the amount of those increases is still TBD. These states have statutory requirements to increase the minimum wage according to the inflationary Consumer Price Index (CPI) in their local area, which hasn’t yet been calculated for 2020.

The minimum wage is the lowest employers can legally pay their workers. In 2020, minimum wage workers in 21 states received a pay increase. Seven states automatically increased their minimum wage based on the cost of living, and 14 states passed laws to increase the minimum wage.

Additionally, 43 cities, counties, and other localities increased their minimum wages beyond what their home states require.

Minimum-Wage-Workest-2020-full

States with minimum wage increases in 2020

To help you stay compliant with your local jurisdiction’s minimum wage, we’ve created this handy guide. It is a comprehensive list of every state and locality that is raising its minimum wage in 2020. It also contains exceptions to the minimum wage for each jurisdiction, such as tipped employees and youth wages.

Alaska: $10.19

Arizona: $12
Tipped Employees: $9

Arkansas: $10
Tipped Employees: $2.63

California: $13

Colorado: $12
Tipped employees: $8.98

Connecticut: $11 ($12 effective September 1, 2020)
Bartenders: $8.23
Other tipped employees: $6.38

Delaware: $9.25
Youth (14-17): $8.75
Tipped employees: $2.23

Washington, D.C.: $14 ($15 effective July 1, 2020)
Tipped employees: $4.45 ($5 effective July 1, 2020)

Florida: $8.56
Tipped employees: $5.54

Illinois: $9.25 ($10 effective July 1, 2020)
Youth working less than 650 hours per year: $8
Tipped employees: $5.55 ($6 effective July 1, 2020)

Maine: $12
Tipped employees: $6

Maryland: $11
Tipped employees: $3.63
Youth less than 18 years old: $9.35

Massachusetts: $12.75
Tipped employees: $4.95

Michigan: $9.65
Tipped employees: $3.67

Minnesota:
Large employers: $10
Small employers: $8.15
Youth less than 18 years old: $8.15

Missouri: $9.45
Tipped employees: $4.725

Montana: $8.65

Nevada:
Employer health benefits: $7.25 ($8 effective July 1, 2020)
No health benefits: $8.25 ($9 effective July 1, 2020)

New Jersey:
Most employers: $11
Tipped employees: $3.13
Seasonal small business employees: $10.30

New Mexico: $9
Tipped employees: $2.35

New York: $11.80
Fast food workers: $13.75
Tipped employees: $7.85

Ohio: $8.70
Tipped employees: $4.35

Oregon:
Standard area: $11.25 ($12 effective July 1, 2020)
Portland metro area: $12.50 ($13.25 effective July 1, 2020)
Non-urban counties: $11.00 ($11.50 effective July 1, 2020)

Rhode Island: $10.50
Students: $9.45
Youth 14-15 years old: $7.88
Tipped employees: $3.89

South Dakota: $9.30
Tipped employees: $4.65

Vermont: $10.96
Tipped employees: $5.38

Washington: $13.50

States without minimum wage increases in 2020

Alabama: $7.25

Georgia: $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standard Act must pay the federal minimum wage)

Hawaii: $10.10

Idaho: $7.25

Indiana: $7.25

Iowa: $7.25

Kansas: $7.25

Kentucky: $7.25

Louisana: $7.25

Mississippi: $7.25

Nebraska: $9

New Hampshire: $7.25

North Carolina: $7.25

North Dakota: $7.25

Oklahoma: $7.25

Pennsylvania: $7.25

Rhode Island: $10.50

South Carolina: $7.25

Tennessee: $7.25

Texas: $7.25

Utah: $7.25

Virginia: $7.25

West Virginia: $8.75

Wisconsin: $7.25

Wyoming: $5.15 (Employers subject to Fair Labor Standard Act must pay the federal minimum wage)

States without minimum wage laws

There are 5 states with no minimum wage laws. In these states, workers must be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. These states are:

  • Alabama
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee

Cities and counties with higher minimum wages

Arizona

California

Illinois

  • Chicago: $13 ($14 effective July 1, 2020)
    Tipped employees: $6.40 ($8.40 effective July 1, 2020)
  • Cook County: $12 ($13 effective July 1, 2020)
    Tipped employees: $5.25

Maryland

Minnesota

  • Minneapolis:
    Small employers: $11 ($11.75 effective July 1, 2020)
    Large employers: $12.25 ($13.25 effective July 1, 2020)
  • St. Paul:
    Micro employers: $9.25 effective July 1, 2020
    Macro employers: $12.50 effective July 1, 2020
    Small employers: $10 effective July 1, 2020
    Large employers: $11.50 effective July 1, 2020

New Mexico

  • Albuquerque:
    No health or childcare: $9.35
    With health or childcare: $8.35
    Tipped employees: $5.60
  • Bernalillo County: $9.20
  • Las Cruces: $10.25
    Tipped employees: $4.10
  • Santa Fe: $11.80 (TBD effective March 1, 2020)
    Tipped employees: $3.53 (TBD effective March 1, 2020)

New York

  • New York City:
    11 or more employees: $15
    Tipped large employer: $10
    10 or fewer employees: $15
    Tipped small employer: $10
    Fast food workers: $15
  • Long Island: $13
    Tipped employees: $8.65
  • Westchester: $13
    Tipped employees: $8.65

Oregon

  • Oregon
    Standard area: $11.25 ($12 effective July 1, 2020)
    Portland metro area: $12.50 ($13.25 effective July 1, 2020)
    Non-urban counties: $11.00 ($11.50 effective July 1, 2020)

Washington

  • Seattle:
    Large employers, more than 500 employees: $16.39
    Small employers, without healthcare: $15.75
    Small employers, with healthcare: $13.50
    Tipped employees: $13.50
  • SeaTac:
    Hospitality and Transportation employees: $16.34

What is the federal minimum wage?

In the United States, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. There are a few exceptions, such as tipped employees and some farm and seasonal workers. But for most Americans, the minimum payment they can expect from an employer is the federal minimum.

More than half of U.S. workers live in a state or city with higher minimum wages. But for those who don’t, this $7.25 per hour is the least that an employer may pay. Unlike many state and city minimum wage laws, the U.S. government does not regularly update its minimum wage. The last time it was increased was between 2007 and 2008. The previous minimum wage was $5.15 per hour.

Stay on top of minimum wage changes

In order to remain compliant with these increases, you must review the minimum wage updates in the state and/or locality where your company employs people. If necessary, adjust employee wages.

This article is for informational purposes and is not meant to provide legal, regulatory, accounting, or tax advice. This article also does not reflect changes made after it’s publishing date, January 2020.

Bookmark(0)

Might also interest you