Providing workers with time off from work to care for themselves and family members during times of illness was a high priority for many of the state legislatures before the advent of the coronavirus.
Colorado voters passed Proposition 118, which will require employers to provide 12 weeks of paid time off to workers for childbirth or other family emergencies.
Centennial State workers will be able to access up to 12 weeks (as much as 16 weeks in certain cases) of job-protected, paid family and medical leave starting in 2024.
In addition to the federal government's paid emergency leave laws, California, Colorado, New Jersey, New York, and Philadelphia have enacted their own COVID-19 emergency paid leave requirements. Get all the details in this article.
Some businesses in Colorado will need to provide workers with up to 4 days of paid sick leave if they have flu-like symptoms and are being tested for the coronavirus, or are under instructions from a healthcare provider to quarantine.
If an employee gets sick after using all of their Paid Time Off (PTO) for the year, am I obligated to grant them additional paid time for sick leave?
Are you required to give your staff members additional paid time off if they become sick but already used all of their PTO for the year? Find out here.