In California, do I need to grant sick leave to my employees?

As of July 1, 2015, employees who’ve worked for at least 30 days in the state of California, and at least 90 days for a company, will be eligible to take 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave per year. Who’s Eligible Eligible employees include exempt/non-exempt, salaried, hourly, and part-time employees as well […]

2018 HSA contribution limit

As of July 1, 2015, employees who’ve worked for at least 30 days in the state of California, and at least 90 days for a company, will be eligible to take 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave per year.

Who’s Eligible

Eligible employees include exempt/non-exempt, salaried, hourly, and part-time employees as well as interns, but not independent contractors.

City Specifics

Several cities in California have adopted their own requirements for paid sick leave and those cities are listed below. Companies that have employees in these cities should review the city’s sick leave requirements when created a sick leave policy.

Final Tips

A sick leave poster must be displayed in the workplace to ensure your employees know about the new legislation. Also, be sure to check with your specific city codes to make sure you are fully compliant.

Helpful Links:

About Sick Leave Law – ca.gov

Bookmark(0)

Might also interest you